How to Change Your Office 365 Clutter Settings

Office 365

 

On June 30, 2015, Microsoft will be enabling a new feature called Clutter on all Office 365 mailboxes. This post describes how to change your Office 365 Clutter settings to enable or disable the feature for individual users or all users at once in an Office 365 deployment.

Clutter is designed to keep your Inbox free of lower priority emails such as those originating from mailing lists or those containing advertisements from companies that you’ve done business with. The idea is to create a middle priority level that exists between emails with normal importance and spam. A new folder called Clutter will automatically be created in the user’s mailbox and low priority emails will be routed into it.  Over time, the Microsoft servers learn how the users handle types of incoming email and will adjust itself accordingly.  More information on the Clutter feature is available on Microsoft’s site: https://support.office.com/en-nz/article/Use-Clutter-to-sort-low-priority-messages-in-Outlook-Web-App-7b50c5db-7704-4e55-8a1b-dfc7bf1eafa0

Changing the Office 365 Cluster Settings in PowerShell

The first step is to connect to Office 365 with PowerShell as described in our earlier post: http://symmetrixtech.com/connect-to-office-365-and-azure-with-powershell/

Disabling Clutter for a single user

Set-Clutter -Identity [email protected] -Enable $false

Disabling Clutter for all users

Get-Mailbox | Set-Clutter -Enable $false

Enabling Clutter for a single user

Set-Clutter -Identity [email protected] -Enable $true

Enabling Clutter for all users

Get-Mailbox | Set-Clutter -Enable $true

 

Changing the Office 365 Clutter Settings in OWA

If there are only a few users that need to be changed, it may be easier to toggle the settings in OWA while logged in with their credentials. Go to Settings (the gear icon) and select Options, Mail, Automatic Processing and Clutter. You can then pick whether or not to separate items into the Clutter folder.

 

Removing the Clutter Folder

After Clutter is disabled, the Clutter folder will remain with the previously sorted items inside it. Just move the items to the appropriate folders and then delete the Clutter folder. It won’t be recreated unless you turn Clutter back on for that user.

By |2015-06-20|Office 365|